Mike McCready to perform with the Seattle Symphony

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusmailby feather

Mike McCready‘s guitar sounds will be getting symphonic next year when he joins the Seattle Symphony at Benaroya Hall on Jan. 3o.

McCready will be a special guest for the Sonic Evolution series. The series, curated by the symphony’s music director Ludovic “Ludo” Morlot, are semi-regular concerts that celebrate Seattle’s musical legacy by pairing the symphony with notable local pop, hip-hop and rock musicians. Ludo’s  most recent Sonic Evolution concert received national attention by bringing the symphony together with Sir Mix A Lot for an orchestral performance of “Baby Got Back.”

RELATED: From the vault: Pearl Jam at Benaroya Hall

According to promotional materials for the next edition of Sonic Evolution, the evening will feature “brand-new symphonic compositions inspired by musical icons Pearl Jam, Nirvana and more.” (Personally, I really hope the “and more” involves Mark Arm joining Mike and the symphony onstage for a classy rendition of “Touch Me I’m Sick.”) Ticket prices for the Jan. 30 performance range between $20 and $50 and can be purchased here.

Of course this won’t be the first time McCready has joined Ludo onstage. In 2012 he performed with the maestro at the Chihuly Boathouse as part of a fundraiser for the Seattle Symphony. And McCready isn’t a stranger to the stage at Benaroya Hall either. That same year he joined Bradi Carlile onstage during her performance with the symphony and way back in 2003 Pearl Jam played a special acoustic concert at the venue to raise funds for Youth Cares.

Travis Hay

About Travis Hay

Travis Hay is a professional music journalist who has spent the past 14 years documenting and enjoying Seattle's diverse music scene. In 2009 he established Guerrilla Candy and is currently the site's editor and publisher. He has written for various media outlets including MSN Music, the Seattle-Post Intelligencer, Seattle Weekly, Crosscut.com and others and was the founder and editor of defunct music site Ear Candy.